Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do

French

Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do

Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do (Two Rivers TSD) is a club based in Oullins, France. Its goals are to teach Tang Soo Do according to the values of the TGTSDA. It also aim to, as written in its statuses, promote, through this teaching, brotherhood, discipline, self-confidence and self-assurance, as well as help students develop "a healthy mind in a healthy body".

A particular attention is brought to self defense: Throughout classes are introduced essential self defense notions, so that students are able to defend themselves, their loved ones and their possessions within the limits of the law.

Organisation

2RTSD was founded under the french "association loi 1901" law, on Dec 21st, 2013. Its current board members are :

Our instructors

Head instructor

Alexandre Bernard

E Dan (2nd Dan)

Mr. Bernard studied Judo for about ten years. After trying quickly a couple more martial arts, he went to the US to get a Ph.D. in chemistry. He joined Buckeye Tang Soo Do on his first semester there. Four years later, he was granted a black belt, and his instructor certificate shortly after. One more year and he came back to France. Not wanting to lose all he had learned, he decided to extend the WTSDA to France by opening 2RTSD.
Mr. Bernard particularly likes Il Suk Sik Dae Ryun, and although he has an affinity for kicks (even more so when they're flying kicks), he is particularly interested in techniques that have good self-defense applications. In fact, he is very interested in self-defense in general, which includes all aspects not traditionnally covered, such as laws, prevention and consequences. He was also at some point very interested in weapons (knives in particular), and followed several clinics on knives and flexible weapons applications. He still occasionally teaches these techniques, although he now thinks they are not really realistic as far as self-defense is concerned, especially in Europe.
Outside of martial arts, he is a developer at a software company in Lyon.

Assistant Instructor

Elodie Linard

Cho Dan (1st Dan)

Mrs Linard has always been interested in martial arts. She tried several (judo, karate, ju jiutsu), without persevering. The over-perfectionist, competitive and segregationist (men and women trying separately) aspects of the clubs she tried dissuaded her from training. Near the end of her studies, she left for the USA for graduate work in chemistry. She discovered there a new martial art: Tang Soo Do. The tenants upheld by Buckeye Tang Soo Do (traditionalism, brotherhood, humility and fighting spirit, amongst others) convinced her to keep training in this martial art. As she got back to France, she chose to pause her training to wait for Alexandre Bernard to open his club.
It is at Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do that she got her black belt after 5 years, and that she still trains and perfects her art. Mrs Linard is particularly interested in the philosophical and introspective aspects of Tang Soo Do. Those are, in her opinion, at the heart of all martial arts practice. She is very interested in practicing forms, which are the perfect example of the union of apparently opposing forces: artistic an martial, beauty and strength, feminine and masculine. Hand techniques, and specifically elbow stries, are her favourite techniques.
In her everyday life, she has started college again and hopes to become a psychologist.

The logo

The club's symbol is a practitioner performing a Soo Do Mahk Ki. The technique is a move that is taught after about 6 months to a year training. It is not a beginner's technique, but neither is it an advanced technique. It is also a technique which is at the same time offensive and defensive, and also very close to a relatively neutral guard position that can be very useful in a self-defense situation.

The practitioner is sufficiently neutral to be either man or woman, as Tang Soo Do is for everyone. They are wearing a black belt, the goal of every Tang Soo Do student. They carry the French flag on their arm, to represent the club's country of origin in a world-spanning association.

In the background, the Um Yang symbol, central element of the korean flag, is "liquidified" to represent the two rivers that give the club its name. Thos rivers are a symbol for the city of Lyon, where the Saône meets the Rhône. The confluence is also a symbol of life, made of plenty of experiences that, put together, make a full, powerful whole.

Like the Um Yang, the two rivers represent opposing forces that meet and grow stronger: the WTSDA is the river of Korea meeting the river of the USA. 2RTSD is a stream, fed by each of its members' streams. All rivers are not as wide, but in the end, without it tributaries, a river is nothing but a creek. In the same way, Tang Soo Do is a river that is fed by different aspects: self-defense, weapons, techniques, forms... The river of Hyung is itself fed from several origins: Pyung Ahns are borrowed from Karate, Bassai from chinese martial arts...

The rivers are also a symbol of journey, internal as well as external. The WTSDA was born from Grandmaster Shin's journey from Korea to the US. 2RTSD is born from its founders trip to the US and back. Life is a river that takes us to an unknown destination. Sometimes, the river digs is own bed, sometimes it is diverted, but it keeps on going all the way to the sea, whatever happens.

Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do

English

Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do

Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do est un club basé à Oullins. Il a pour vocation d'enseigner le Tang Soo Do selon les valeurs de la TGTSDA. Il a également pour vocation, tel que défini dans ses statuts, de promouvoir, à travers cet enseignement, la fraternité, la discipline, la confiance en soi et l'assurance, ainsi que d'aider les étudiants à développer "un esprit sain dans un corps sain".

Un intérêt particulier est apporté au self-defense : Au fil des cours sont inculquées des notions essentielles de self-defense, afin que les étudiants soient à même de se défendre, de défendre leurs proches et leurs bien dans les limites autorisées par la loi.

Organisation

2RTSD est une association loi 1901, constituée le 21/12/2013. Le conseil d'administration se constitue actuellement de :

Nos instructeurs

Instructeur en chef

Alexandre Bernard

Sam Dan (3ème Dan)

M Bernard a étudié le Judo pendant une dizaine d'années. Après avoir essayé rapidement quelques autres arts martiaux, il est parti aux USA passer un doctorat en chimie. Il a rejoint Buckeye Tang Soo Do dès le premier trimestre. Quatre ans plus tard, il recevait sa ceinture noire et son diplôme d'instructeur certifié peu après. Encore un an et il rentrait en France. Ne voulant pas perdre ce qu'il avait appris, il a décidé d'étendre la WTSDA en France en ouvrant 2RTSD.
M Bernard apprécie particulièrement les Il Suk Sik Dae Ryun, et bien qu'ayant une affinité particulière pour les coups de pieds (d'autant plus sautés), il est particulièrment intéressé par les techniques applicables en self-defense. En fait, il est très intéressé par le self-defense en général, ce qui inclut en particulier tous les aspects non couverts traditionnellement, tels que la loi, la prévention et les conséquences. Il était également à une période très intéressé par les armes (couteaux en particulier), et a suivi plusieurs séminaires sur les utilisations de couteaux et d'armes flexibles. Il lui arrive toujours d'enseigner ces techniques, bien qu'il trouve désormais qu'elles sont peu réalistes pour des situations de légitime défense.
Dans la vie privée, il est Ingénieur R&D chez un éditeur d'un logiciel informatique sur Lyon.

Assistante Instructrice

Elodie Linard

Cho Dan (1er Dan)

Mme Linard a toujours été intéressée par les art martiaux. Elle en a essayé divers (judo, karaté, ju jitsu) sans persévérer. L’aspect ultra perfectionniste, compétitif et ségrégationniste (les femmes et le hommes ne s’entraînant pas ensemble) des clubs qu’elle a essayé l’ont dissuadé de continuer. A la fin de son cursus universitaire, elle est partie aux USA faire de la recherche en Chimie. Elle y a découvert un nouvel art martial : le Tang Soo Do. Les valeurs portées par le club Buckeye Tang Soo Do (traditionalisme, fraternité, humilité et combativité, entre autres) l’ont convaincue de continuer dans cet art martial. A son retour en France, elle a préféré arrêter un temps (2 ans) sa pratique d’art martial afin d‘attendre la création du club d’Alexandre Bernard.
C’est au sein du club Deux Rivières Tang Soo Do qu’elle a obtenu sa ceinture noire au bout de 5 ans de pratique et qu’elle continue de s’entraîner et de se perfectionner. Mme Linard porte un intérêt particulier à l’aspect philosophique et introspectif du Tang Soo Do, qui sont d’après elle au cœur de toute pratique d’art martial. Elle est très intéressée par la pratique des formes qui est le parfait exemple de l’alliance de forces en apparence opposées : l’artistique et le martial, la beauté et la force, le féminin et le masculin. Les techniques de mains et coup de coude sont ses techniques de prédilection.
Dans la vie privée, elle est en phase de reconversion professionnelle et ambitionne de devenir psychologue.

Le logo

Le symbole du club est un pratiquant qui effectue un Soo Do Mahk Ki. La technique est un mouvement qui est enseigné après environ 6 mois à un an d'ancienneté. Ce n'est pas une technique de débutant, mais sans être non plus une technique avancée. C'est également une technique qui est à la fois offensive et défensive, et proche d'une position de garde relativement neutre qui peut être utilisée en situation de self-défense.

Le pratiquant est suffisamment neutre pour être à la fois un homme ou une femme, représentant que le Tang Soo Do s'adresse à tous. Et il porte une ceinture noire, qui est le but de tous les étudiants du Tang Soo Do. Il porte également le drapeau français sur le bras, pour représenter le pays originaire du club dans une association mondiale.

En arrière-plan, le symbole du Um Yang, élément central du drapeau coréen, est "fluidifié" pour représenter les Deux Rivières qui donnent leur nom au club. Ces deux rivières sont un symbole de la ville de Lyon, où la Saône se jette dans le Rhône. Le confluent est aussi un symbole de la vie, qui est faite de multitudes d'expériences qui, ensemble, forment un tout conséquent, puissant.

Comme le Um Yang, les deux rivières représentent des forces opposées qui se rencontrent et se renforcent: la WTSDA est la rivière de la Corée qui rencontre la rivière des États-Unis. 2RTSD est un ruisseau, alimenté par les ruisseaux de ses membres individuels. Toutes les rivières n'ont pas le même débit, mais au final, sans ses affluents, un fleuve n'est qu'un ruisseau. De la même manière, le Tang Soo Do est un fleuve alimenté par différents aspects : self-defense, armes, techniques, hyung... La rivière des Hyung est elle-même alimentée par différentes origines : Les Phyung Ahn empruntées au Karate, Bassai aux arts chinois...

Les rivières sont également un symbole de voyage, interne comme externe. La WTSDA est né du voyage de Grandmaster Shin de la Corée vers les États-Unis. 2RTSD est né du voyage des fondateurs du club aux États-Unis, puis de leur retour en France. La vie est une rivière qui nous emmène vers une destination inconnue. Parfois, la rivière se creuse son propre lit, parfois elle est détournée, mais elle continue jusqu'à la mer quoi qu'il arrive.